Establishment of agroforestry research trials in Victoria during 1983-85: A report to Victoria’s 15th Anniversary Board.  P.J. Baldwin, H.T.L. Stewart, W.I. Hamer, P.R. Bird and D.W. Flinn.  March 1986.  32 pp.


From 1983 to 1985, agroforestry research trials were established at six localities throughout Victoria using funds provided by the 150th Anniversary Board. The work was jointly undertaken by the Departments of Conservation, Forests and Lands and Agriculture and Rural Affairs. This report details establishment procedures used at the trial sites.

The overall aim of the trials is to provide definitive information on the costs and benefits of a wide range of agroforestry combinations. Accordingly, trials were established at the following locations to test a total of 93 tree species grown in combination with specific types of agriculture:

  1. Carngham (near Ballarat) - sheep grazing and Pinus radiata Don (radiata pine);
  2. Hamilton (several sites) - sheep grazing and mixed tree species;
  3. Kyabram - irrigated pastures and Eucalyptus grandis Hill ex Maiden (flooded gum);
  4. Rutherglen - cereal cropping and shelterbelts;
  5. Myrtleford - irrigated mint and two clones of Populus (poplars); and
  6. Neerim South (near Warragul) - cattle grazing and mixed tree species.

Conventional and innovative experimental designs have been used in setting up these trials, which in total constitute the most comprehensive agroforestry research program in Australia. This report describes these trials in detail, and stresses the importance of continued expert management of the trials, so that the full benefits of the work for rural Victoria can be realised.