"The past is never fully gone. It is absorbed into the present and the future. It stays to shape what we are and what we do."
Sir William Deane, Governor-General of Australia, Inaugural Vincent Lingiari Memorial Lecture, August 1996.

The 1956? Reorganisation

This article is still being developed.

Before 1956, field management of the Forests Commission was organised through the Divisions and Districts set out in the table below.

The District boundaries are shown on the map further down; the numbers on the map correspond to the those beside the District names in the table. 

 The information has been transferred from a 'Magic Lantern' glass slide.  The transfer was less than perfect as the photograph of the map base in the glass side was distorted somewhat.  Treat the boundaries as indicative only.  There are also anomalies: such as areas without numbers; no boundary in the Wombat-Ballarat area; in the east two districts are shown where perhaps there should be only one - Mallacoota.


 FCV Divisions and Districts pre-1956

Source: Map from the 'Magic Lantern' glass slide collection in the Creswick Campus Cultural Collection.

Central Gippsland Northern North East Western
20 You Yangs 45 Yarram 7 Swan Hill 30 Barmah 1 Mildura
21 Lal Lal 46 Tanjil 8 Kerang 31 Yarrawonga 2 Ouyen
27 Broadford 48 Bruthen 9 Gunbower 32 Shepparton 3 Rainbow
39 Niagaroon 49 Nowa Nowa 10 Bendigo 33 Chiltern 4 Jeparit
40 Woods Point 50 Cann Valley 26 Castlemaine 34 Beechworth 5 Dimboola
41 Upper Yarra 51 Mallacoota 28 Heathcote 35 Upper Murray 6 Hopetoun
43 Dandenong 29 Rushworth 36 Omeo 11 Dunolly
44 Mornington 37 Upper Ovens 12 St Arnaud
47 Neerim 38 Delatite 13 Stawell
14 Apsley
15 Lower Glenelg
16 Heywood
17 Hampden
18 Otway West
19 Otway East
22 Scarsdale
23 Beaufort
24 Maryborough
25 Ballarat
42 Wombat



Contact the Editor